Volume XIV   Issue 3                                                     3rd Quarter

“...Because nobody should keep a good thing secret”

One of the most rewarding aspects of my real estate career is being a “resource”… Whether it’s a resource for marketing properties in a challenging Michigan economy or being a resource for local tradespeople in renovation/restoration or repair jobs...one of my best resources is This Old House magazine. The following list is of “Secret Sources” revealed for out-of-the-ordinary products… you might just need one of these in the future! (More secrets in the next newsletter)

Salvaged Brick: Gavin Historical Bricks, Iowa City, Iowa; 319.631.3984; http://historicalbricks.com. Rugged pavers collected since the turn of the century.

Hardware Restoration: Al Bar Wilmette Platters, Wilmette, Illinois; 866.823.8404; http://albarwilmette.com. Shine up your tarnished locks/doorknobs.

Door Knockers: Knobs & Knockers, Lahaska, PA; 215.794.8045; http://knobsnknockers.com. Unique/hard-to-find knobs & knockers.

Custom Hardware: P.E. Guerin, New York, NY; 212.243.5270; http://perguerin.com. Original, hand-crafted pulls, locksets, fittings, etc.

E.R. Butler & Co., Boston, MA, 617.722.0230; http://erbutler.com. Early American replica locks, pulls, knobs, latches, etc.

Cabinet Knobs/Pulls: Mockett Inc., Manhattan Beach, CA, 310.318.2491; http://mockett.com. Innovative, sleek/simple, stainless steel knobs/pulls.

Custom Windows: Leeds Clark, Midlothian, Texas; 972.775.3843; http://leedsclark.com. Window damage hand-crafted restoration.

Garage Doors: Historic Doors, Kempton, PA; 610.756.6187; http://historicdoors.com. Upgrading garage/carriage doors in weather-resistant woods.

Cast-Iron Railings: Architectural Iron Company, Milford, PA; 570.296.7722; http://architecturaliron.com. Functional beauty restored or recreated in period detail.

Hand-Forged Iron Gates: Medwedeff Forge and Design, Murphysboro, Illinois; 618.687.4304; http://johnmedwedeff.com. Fire screens, tools, architectural metalwork in whimsical styles.

Handblown Glass Door Knobs: Light Impressions Glasscrafters, Scarborough,Maine;207.883.9144; http://lightimpressionsglasscrafters.com. Swirling, speckled, multi-colored patterns … true original artwork not just for the Victorian home.

Stained Glass: Judson Studios, Los Angeles, CA; 800.445.8376; http://judsonstudios.com. New and restorative work, many contemporary designs for residential and commercial.

Hardware Store: Seven Corners Hardware, St. Paul, Minnesota; 651.224.4859; http://7corners.com. Specializing in power tools and tool know-how for the homeowner essentials.

Interior Light Fixtures: Studio Steel, New Preston, Connecticut; 860.868.7305; http://studiosteel.com. Handwrought chandeliers, sconces, lanterns inspired by Swedish palaces and historic Federal-style homes.

Exterior Light Fixtures: Thomas Lighting, Louisville, KY; 800.365.4448; http://thomaslighting.com. Latest lighting trends in architecture, furniture/interior design

Source: This Old House magazine, December 2005

                                           

Email me at: beth@bethpressler.com

Return to Home

Web Site Design by Internet Online Programs.
websites@programs.com
Copyright Beth Pressler. All rights reserved.
All information is subject to change without notice
and is believed to be accurate but not guaranteed.